Skip to content

Hope for the Youth?

June 12, 2012

It’s no secret that we are all getting older. There is a lot of animosity towards “the next generation” and I expect that will never change. It is easy to blame change for the worse on anyone but yourself, but it is important that we all take some burden of the responsibility.

I didn’t really open up this window to write about how young people are all pieces of shit and we are lazy and have ADD and are over-medicated and blah blah blah. Mostly because I don’t believe that. I think that a lot of my own generation is lacking a certain motivation and work ethic, but a lot of “us” (or them as it may be in my own case) are not. A lot of this particular generation are heavily motivated, highly intelligent and hell-bent on making this world a better place. I know a few people who are deserving of accolades for their hard work and dedication to whatever it is that they do.

On to what I did open up this window to discuss. Two things, really. One being that I am approaching another birthday (again? already? ugh). I have no qualms with getting a little bit older, but we seem to be accelerating the

process lately. I am convinced that this past year (while a leap year) was a little short of a full calendar. It had to have been. The time just went too fast. I have oft divulged my age here, but I think it’s time I stopped talking about how old I am. I’m no longer on the young side of my twenties so let’s keep it at that.

The second thing I meant to write about was something that happened on my trip home last week. I have a much younger brother (he’s 17) and I was lucky enough to be able to attend an awards night at his high school where he was honored with a sports scholarship. After this event I asked him if he would drive me back to our parents’ house so that I might have the chance to have some one-on-one time with him before he went out for the night. Of course, he obliged and started telling me about the Beer Pong party that he was going to go to after going home to change. I laughed, remembering all those times I threw disgusting ping pong balls into warm beer in friends’ basements EIGHT years ago in high school. I almost cried, then realizing I’ve been out of high school for EIGHT YEARS (twice the time I was in high school), but didn’t. I then asked my brother if he’d stay and sit with us while we ate dinner before going out since it was my only night with my family before heading back to the city and then back to LA a few days later. He immediately said, “I don’t need to go out, I’ll stay home, then.” A few minutes later his phone rang and he answered and said, “Yeah, man, I’m not going to come out tonight actually, my sister is home for only one night so I’m going to stay in with her.” My jaw practically had to be scraped off the floor mat. My little brother was forgoing a night of beer pong during his senior spring to hang out with me? At seventeen I never would have exhibited such a mature, sensitive nature. Our younger generation aren’t all selfish and horrible and over-medicated. My little brother’s drugs of choice are baseball and family. I guess they do make them like they used to. Maybe the good genes just skipped over me and went to him.

Image

My pretty awesome, little (6’3″) brother

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Cliffer Baratta permalink
    June 12, 2012 12:36 PM

    Hey! Stop insinuating lies!! You received some good genes! And I might note that I’m wearing an old pair of your Mavi JEANS. Those are nice too (sorry about that)! Oh, and you are bright in your own right- even if you WERE more selfish than your brother (that is changing and will change more). I agree- he IS awesome. My biased opinions here. Bravo to you all who are high on life instead of meds. — Mom.

Trackbacks

  1. Change « AdriaOccasionally

Leave a Reply

