Skip to content

Park[ing]

June 8, 2011

Every time I type a new sentence I can’t help but write “it’s going to cost me almost $500 to fix my car, because I hit a purple, cement beam in the Ikea parking lot” and I really don’t want to use this as a platform to whine about my incompetence and frustration with the former. So here are some pictures from an impromptu hike last week.

I’m also on a new plan to educate myself. Not like, “eduKAYTE yo’self” but like, learn things. If anyone has any recommendations on how I can become a lot smarter in the next six months, let me know. I think I miss school. And learning. I’m obviously on my way to a new level of intelligence being that its almost 2 am, I’ve just eaten half a mason jar full of wasabi peas [containers are so key.], my nose is running and Its Always Sunny In Philadelphia on the teevee. I feel smarter already.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 2:13 AM

    My recommendation as far as self-education goes is to actually take a few steps back. Find something that you discovered yourself, that made you pursue academic-advancement in the first place, and revisit that. Especially if it was something that you felt you grew out of, or needed to walk away from. While you read or watch or listen to whatever that is, just do some internet searches on things that you were always curious about, or pick up something that work references, or something that the person who worked on it has done since you walked away from the work in the first place. This is more or less what I did, and I just find if I keep notes, things to look up, look into, things to read, even just things I wish I knew more about, and spending an evening checking that out – that’s were a lot of my self-teaching comes from. And having someone to talk to about these new things you’re discovering, someone who will be receptive to the stuff you’re getting excited about is always really helpful too.

    Just a thought. My feeling is this probably sounds either really obvious or really obnoxious, but it was how I got back into teaching myself without school to motivate me.

    Sorry about the car.

  2. June 8, 2011 5:53 PM

    Third photo? Favorite.

Leave a Reply

