Skip to content

2016

December 29, 2016

2016-predictions-930x527“The worst year ever!” “F**CK 2016!” “Year of Death!”

These monikers and more have been used to describe the previous 362 days that make up 2016. Surely, we all know the events that most are referring to that earn 2016 its bad rap: Donald Trump elected President, Brexit, David Bowie, Prince, George Michael, Muhammed Ali, Alan Rickman, Gene Wilder, Leonard Cohen, and now Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds’ deaths, the blocking of the appointment of a Supreme Court justice to replace the evil-dead Scalia, and a whole slew of other tragedies that are not unique to 2016, but simply piled on top of this otherwise tragic calendar year.

Yes, a lot of bad things happened this year. A lot. Politics aside, we can agree that 2016 has been rough, but it has had its fair share of joy as well. In an attempt to recap my own year in an articulate and comprehensive manner that allows me to close the chapter that was 2016 for my own life, I will now spill some thoughts into this box.

First, let’s talk art. This was a very good and important year for art and entertainment. Here are my favorites from 2016:

TV

  • Fleabag
  • Atlanta
  • Baskets
  • Insecure

(Honorable Mentions: Better Things, The Good Place, Stranger Things, The Crown)

Movies

  • Arrival
  • Moonlight
  • The Lobster
  • Everybody Wants Some
  • Blue Jay

(Honorable Mentions: Deadpool, La La Land, Other People, Manchester By The Sea)

(I have not yet seen, but suspect I may enjoy: Hell or High Water, Silence, American Honey, Hunt For The Wilderpeople, Jackie, Paterson )

Albums

  • Awaken My Love-Childish Gambino
  • Lemonade-Beyonce
  • A Sailor’s Guide to Earth-Sturgill Simpson
  • A Seat At The Table-Solange
  • Are You Serious-Andrew Bird
  • A Moon Shaped Pool-Radiohead

(Honorable Mentions: Starboy-The Weeknd, The Hamilton Mixtape-Various, Why Are You Ok-Band of Horses, case/lang/veirs-Neko Case, KD Lang, Laura Veirs)

Books 

(These are not all new to 2016, but they’re the best books I read in 2016)

  • Dark Matter-Blake Crouch (2016)
  • A Song To Take The World Apart-Zan Romanoff (2016)
  • An Object of Beauty-Steve Martin
  • The Art of Fielding-Chad Harbach
  • Bossypants-Tina Fey (it took me long enough, right?)

(Honorable Mentions: Pillars of The Earth-Ken Follett)

Now, let’s get into the massively long, rambling, sentimental drivel on 2016: I had a pretty exceptional year. I traveled alone a lot in 2016, by choice. I turned 30 halfway through the year and spent a lot of time trying to do the things that make me happy in new and beloved places with the people who make me the best me.

I rang in 2016 in the Hamptons with my oldest and best friends and barely stopped moving all year. I traveled from LA to Ojai, San Diego, Mt. Baldy, Denver, Boulder, Breckenridge, New Orleans, NYC, London, Brussels, Amsterdam, Berlin, Morro Bay, Monterey, San Francisco, Joshua Tree, the Catskills, and then back to NYC to finish out the year on a several month stint on the east coast.

In 2016 I completed my yoga teacher training, I went to a bunch of Dodgers games, I totaled my car, I paid off all my credit card debt, I had six jobs, I moved 1.1 miles away, then I temporarily moved 2,793 miles away, I went to some music festivals and a lot of concerts, I finally got a job in the TV writing realm, I quit all my service industry jobs, I finished making a movie, I wrote my first feature film, I went to my first protest rally, then my second, and my third, I reconnected with a lot of old friends, I made a serious effort to see my close friends and family more often (and it worked!), I made a lot of [pretty good] food for a lot of people, I went on a lot of bad dates and a few good dates, I got rid of a lot of stuff, I didn’t buy very much stuff, I got my first tattoo, I watched a lot of TV, I read a lot of TV, I wrote a lot of words, I took a lot of pictures, and I can honestly say that I covered more ground literally, physically, emotionally, spiritually, and psychologically in 2016 than any other year of my life.

Thanks to all who breathed the air on this beautiful but damaged planet of ours for contributing to another trip ’round the sun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

