Skip to content

Welcome to the Future…

February 13, 2014

The past month and a half have been a whirlwind of preparation, the culmination of which was this past weekend. Now that the storm is over, I have time to live in my own head again. A scary place to come back to. A place of “what next?”, “where to?”, and “what if?” So I’m taking a few days off. Not off from my day-to-day job, but from my expectations for myself. I’m not allowed to start any new projects until Monday, no deadlines, no obligations whatsoever, other than to show up at work in the afternoons.
As a result, yesterday I watched all of Top of the Lake, on Netflix (GO WATCH THIS!!). Today I took a yoga class in the meadow at the Silver Lake Reservoir (yes, outside…sorry, those stuck in snowstorms), went for a long, wine included, lunch with girlfriends, and am going to take a nap. Because this is my vacation. I don’t get vacation days, I don’t get “time off”, because to get ahead in this business (or any freelance business, really), you have to ALWAYS be working, and as a result it is very, very easy to literally NEVER stop working. It’s why, I believe, so many artists turn to drugs and alcohol; as a way to shut off their always working brains. So I’m allowing myself to step out. Not entirely…the phone is still on, the emails still coming in, the ideas still flowing, but I’m not allowed to put any pressure on myself to be doing anything until Monday. And on Monday, it’ll be full-speed-ahead.In the meantime, I have 5,409 buzzfeed quizzes to complete. WHAT EMOJI AM I?!?!?!More words soon. Promise.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2014 5:48 AM

    I’m so old I had to look up Emoji. Sigh.

  2. Rory permalink
    March 11, 2014 7:24 AM

    Top of the lake is sooo good!!!

Leave a Reply

