Skip to content

Music, Words & Catching Up

October 12, 2013

Now that my summer of travel is over and fall is arriving in Los Angeles in its own way (sunshine, wind, and finally scarves and jackets!) I’ve had some time to reflect on the past few months and how I plan on spending the rest of 2013.

Last week, I had dinner with a friend I haven’t seen in four years (seriously?! Time, she doth fly), and I asked her, in between shoveling enchiladas into my mouth, what made her drop out of law school to pursue writing full time and she gave such an amazing answer that I felt the need to share it here. She said that she realized that she was putting so much effort into something that she wasn’t sure she wanted, so she decided to put forth that much effort for something that she did want. Isn’t that beautiful? So now I just need to dedicate myself to my work as if it were a full time job and stop spending so much wasted time worrying about what everyone else I know is up to and how much more productive they are. The jealousy will kill you. The jealousy WILL kill our ability to flourish. And by “you” and “our” I mean me. So I’m hunkering down and really putting my priorities in order and really working on all of the projects I’ve set out to finish before year’s end (or at least just be more productive).

Last weekend I went to Way Over Yonder (Newport Folk Festival brought their show to the Santa Monica Pier), and aside from the bands I went to see (Neko Case, The Felice Brothers, Calexico, Conor Oberst), here are three bands that KICKED ASS that you should totally check out if this kind of music makes you smile ear-to-ear. I had the dumbest smile on my face all weekend and I can safely say it wasn’t the beer or the bloody marys (okay, maybe partially the bloody marys), but the music! It was easily the best $80 I’ve spent in a long time and the only time I’ve ever been to a music festival (the thought of Coachella makes me want to claw my eyeballs out and throw them at neon wearing, Molly popping frat kids…) I cannot recommend that you click the next three links more…just do it. You won’t regret it:

First Aid Kit

Shovels & Rope

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down

Also, a few weeks ago I went up to San Francisco (it’s becoming a little bit of an addiction…I love that city!) to shoot a short film that I wrote with a friend of mine. We’re in post-production right now, but we have a Twitter handle if you want to follow @SundayTheShort to find out when we’ve got a trailer, a release date, festival info, stills, etc. Aside from shooting and catching up with friends up in the Bay Area, I was also able to meet up with my parents on their first couples vacation in 27 years (Jeeeeeeeeeeeez). Here’s some photos:

Golden Gate

Golden Gate

From Alcatraz

From Alcatraz

'Cisco meets the Pacific

‘Cisco meets the Pacific

One Comment leave one →
  1. HLM permalink
    October 14, 2013 5:31 PM

    Way to crash J&R’s “couples vacation”! 😉

Leave a Reply

