Skip to content

Speeding Up, and Slowing Down

August 5, 2013
Image

Miami Bachelorette

Image

That time I wore 6-carats on my party nail

Image

South Beach

Image

Mom and her crossword

Image

Dad, iPad and [not shown] Louis Armstrong

I’m currently enjoying some much needed downtime at my parents’ house. The past few weeks have been a blur of preparing for a bachelorette party in Miami and working enough to be able to ensure that I can pay for yet another two weeks off from work this summer. I’ve been sitting in the same spot on the couch in the den for several hours now and I don’t feel the least bit bad about it. After forcing my little brother to work out with me I got to enjoy listening to my mother argue with an environmental non-profit door-to-door-er, and then listen to some Louis Armstrong.

The bachelorette weekend went off with nary a hitch. The girls decided to all buy matching purple bikinis (the color of the bridesmaid’s dresses) and buy the bride a white one. When we arrived at the hotel we told her to wait in the lobby while we all put on our bikinis, blew up balloons, readied the champagne (a gift from her fiance) and filled our penis squirt gun with water. When she returned she was not only surprised but amazed that our bikinis (and hers) matched the gift she’d gotten us: water bottles filled with a hangover kit (genius) and purple bikinis painted on the side!

While I’ve always known that I’d probably be the co-Maid of Honor for this friend’s wedding, I never really thought about how to throw a bachelorette party, or what to do with a diverse group of eight girls. First of all, this group of girls was amazing. Everyone not only got along great, but we shared food, drinks, and so many laughs it’s ridiculous.

I realized on Thursday night, as I was enjoying a small dinner in the international terminal at SFO with a San Francisco friend (who I was able to see 2 weeks ago on my trip up north, as well!) before my connecting flight to Florida, that I’ve had quite the year of [domestic] travel. So far this year I’ve been in the Hamptons, LA, New Orleans, Las Vegas, New York, New Jersey, Vermont, San Francisco, Miami, the Hudson Valley (tomorrow, for a mountain biking trip) and after this weekend I can add the Finger Lakes, where I’m headed to watch a close college friend get married. It’s a wonder I’ve been able to do anything else in 2013.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

