Skip to content

Meanwhile, In Brooklyn

June 19, 2013

Since moving from Manhattan to Los Angeles two and a half years ago I’ve visited the city eight times. Depending on how you look at it, this is either an insane amount of time to come back home after moving across the country, or “You’ve only been back in NY EIGHT TIMES IN ALMOST THREE YEARS?”, but either way you look at it, it’s still home, just in a different way.

I’m sitting here in some combination bar-cafe with beer draughts next to a cold brew coffee tap in Williamsburg taking care of some emails and drinking high-octane dark roast right now feeling all the feelings. Before I left I moved, in 2010, I wrote this, which ends on this note: “Please, don’t change too much while I’m gone, because I’ll be back and I want to be with you forever. New York, I love you.”

Looking back on the reflections I had before I left is strange, first of all because it is always uncomfortable to read your writing from the past (“I sound so juvenile, so naive”), but secondly, because I really didn’t think I’d be there for more than a year, at the most two. Now, coming up on my third year, I wonder when I’ll ever leave. If I’ll ever leave. My west coast friends are very sensitive to this issue and they must think of me as a flight risk every time I come home. If they don’t, they should.

There’s a thousand and one factors that could influence or change my decision on living in Los Angeles any given day, but the fact of the matter is that I made the choice to move there and I’ll be damned if I don’t get something to show for that. Sure, I’ve learned a great deal about myself, the world, humanity, et cetera, but what do I have to show for this time? Do we need to create physical entities to feel fulfilled? In the life of a creative person pursuing a creative career path is there ever more than a fleeting moment of fulfillment or do we live for the feeling that there is always going to be something else we need to be doing? What kind of happiness is possible with that mentality?

 

And more importantly, do I have to go home next week or can I stay here drinking diesel grade coffee and Brooklyn summer ale?

 

photophoto-1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 12:36 PM

    Coffee and ale.- love, Mom

  2. July 1, 2013 3:05 PM

    Thanks a lot, now I am definitely fleeing back into those dirty Eastern arms ASAP. #chasingthecoffeedragon

Leave a Reply

