Skip to content

Luck

September 7, 2012

I sit writing this back to some semblance of “normalcy” (I put that in quotes because it feels like my life no longer has a constant). This past weekend I was able to drive up to San Francisco for the first time since moving to California and then I was fortunate enough to be able to join my brother and a friend of his camping in Yosemite for two nights. While I try to always maintain an awareness of my good fortune and lifestyle, this past labor day weekend was quite the wake up call into just how lucky I am.

On my way home from Yosemite yesterday I was involved in a very, very scary car accident. Truth be told, I probably shouldn’t be writing this post right now but for the fact that I am very lucky. Switching lanes from the far left I started to merge and then noticed a car in my blind spot so I swerved back over into the left lane, the road was slick from the first rain (oil slick, blah blah) so I slid slightly into the shoulder, nervous from the lack of control I overcompensated in my swerve back into the left lane and my car spun…180 degrees and I skidded. across. five. lanes. of. freeway. At 3 pm. On the 5, which was full of cars. As I was sliding backwards across multiple lanes of freeway my fear wasn’t so much being smashed into directly by oncoming traffic as it was the pending death that would surely occur if I hit the barrier separating the far right shoulder of the freeway from…free fall. Somehow, and let me tell you, I have no idea how, not a single car hit me, not a single car hit ANY other car, in fact, and I simply slid into the barrier with my back, driver’s side bumper hit the cement and was barely damaged. Four minutes later I drove away. Some people may evoke God in this situation, I don’t know either way, but what I do know is that I was meant to live. As hokey as it sounds, I have things to do and I was meant to do them. So starting today I started to really do them.

The pilot I’ve been working on writing for six months now is some version of finished and we are shooting a teaser scene this Saturday. I finally signed up for an acting class after a two year break from any sort of scene study. I’m going to clean my apartment. I took out the smelly trash. Oh, and then there was an earthquake. Like, 30 minutes ago, as I began writing this. It’s possible that the universe is sending me very strong messages. Or it’s possible that that was a message for someone else. Let’s not take life for granted. Let’s not procrastinate. Let’s do the things that we feel we are meant to do, the things we feel we must do, we need to do. Otherwise, they may not get done.

I’ll leave you with some stellar photos from San Francisco and Yosemite. Reminder to follow me on Instagram @adria27!

Golden Gate

SF

Bro

Sentinel Dome

Tree

Yosemite Valley

Camping Essentials

Cathedral Lake

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2012 8:11 PM

    Wow – that is scary, and yes you are very lucky. When I was reading your description of the accident I imagined your car spinning through traffic in slow motion and slowly hitting the barrier. Good for you taking this as a sign to keeping living. I need my wake up call to happen soon, but hopefully not in the form of a near-death experience (or close to it).

  2. September 8, 2012 1:17 PM

    YAY!!!! You’re alive! Man, that really puts things in perspective. I am lucky I know you and your beautiful friends! Let’s go to the beach again!

Leave a Reply

