Skip to content

Silver and Gold

May 11, 2012

In the past I’ve written a lot about how hard it was to leave my amazing group(s) of friends in New York and move all the way to Los Angeles. I’ve lived here for a year and a half now (what? agh!) and this spring I’ve been fortunate enough to have two separate visits from friends.

The past week has been a blur. Three of my oldest friends came to visit me and to say that we had a good time would be an understatement on par with “Paul Rudd is likeable”. As much as I wish that we all lived in the same city it is reassuring to know that these trips are a welcome possibility. I’ve also written quite a bit about how grown up I feel here in LA, and this past weekend served as a reminder that I’m still very young, very energetic, and not yet retired from the land of “fun”. (Please, please may I never retire away from fun!)

There is something calming about being around people who you can talk to anything about. This may be the obvious statement of the century, but it’s pretty nice to not worry about impressing the people you’re hanging out with, and as sad as it may be, it’s very difficult to have friendships like that. I mean, I had no idea what “dougie-ing” was, but instead of judging me for being a pathetic, homebody who’d rather hang out on the couch with her dog and her boyfriend then go out and listen to top 40 hip-hop in a crowded bar wearing uncomfortable shoes and waiting fifteen minutes to get a watered down vodka soda from the bar, (See what I did there? I injected my terrible attitude and old-lady mentality into an otherwise positive message), they just laughed and put the song on and taught me the “rules”.

All of a sudden I feel like my entire outlook has changed. Los Angeles doesn’t seem like a sunny, foreign land anymore, but a place where happiness can exist. Of course I haven’t been unhappy for the entire eighteen months I’ve lived here but the kind of pure, clean, joyous happiness that I felt in so many of the moments of my time with my friends is hard to come by.  Making close girl friends is very difficult and I only am starting to feel like I have real friendships here in LA. W

hile this feeling is amazing there is nothing quite like the familiarity and giggles that come with being around people you’ve known for over a decade, especially when that decade involves braces, Bat Mitzvahs, Algebra classes, high school musicals (pre-Zac Efron), virginity loss, first apartments, firstreal jobs, and lots and lots of snacks. I can’t wait to build more friendships that are this strong; the old adage proves correct again, silver, gold, new friends, old friends, la di dah.

We went to Las Vegas, we went to Malibu, we hardly slept, we danced for hours and hours, we ate homemade, grilled pizza in a “treehouse” by candlelight, we laughed and laughed and laughed and ate and drank and ate, we took photos on the beach, we took photos in the desert, and I’ve felt a mix of sadness and euphoria ever since they left. Friendship is a beautiful thing and we should be thankful for it, I know I certainly am.

Cinco de Mayo…Malibu

The burger and boozy shake at Holstein’s in Vegas were so good, I cried.

Venice Pizza Party

Love is beach spinning in Malibu

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    May 11, 2012 2:03 PM

    I love you unconditionally but I just wanted to clarify that i AM still judging you for not knowing what the dougie is 🙂 And also missing you terribly.

    • May 12, 2012 1:30 AM

      Unconditional love judgement is okay. Teach me how to Dougie?

      • medialogy permalink
        May 12, 2012 1:28 PM

        Really, wordpress? No “like” button yet? Get with the times.

  2. Audrey permalink
    May 14, 2012 10:44 AM

    I don’t know what that dance is either, so I wouldn’t have judged you. As I told someone yesterday, “apparently there’s this YouTube thing that I should be watching…”

    Wish I could have been there for all the fun 😦 A visit is definitely in order!

Trackbacks

  1. On Cities and Love « AdriaOccasionally

Leave a Reply

