Skip to content

REM cycles: It’s the end of the world as we know it…

January 24, 2012

First of all, I’m crazy proud of this title. A REM cycle, like a dream, and my dreams have been about the end of the world! But it’s also an REM song. Okay, yeah, if you have to explain it, it’s not funny. Sorry.

I’ve been having recurring nightmares; vivid, stick-with-you-in-the-morning, apocalyptic nightmares. I think that dreams are awesome, especially when they’re cinematic and fodder for writing, but these dreams have been straight-up awful. I mean I wake up in the middle of the night crying, and apparently I’ve been sleep-crying. I Googled my dreams today. First of all, I know no one wants to hear about other people’s dreams, but I’ll be brief: I’m standing in a field, and it’s blue, but it’s kind of purple…just kidding.

The first dream was about a zombie apocalypse, and granted I am reading “World War Z”, but still, I was hiding from the invading undead and locking my doors and cowering in fear while a massive collection of police cars swarmed outside. The second dream was about an apocalpytic tidal wave and finding my family to escape to Chicago or something.

Want to know what these things mean? I’m sure you do, otherwise you’d have gone back to your Twitter tab by now…oh, you…okay…bye.

Apocalypse
To dream of the apocalypse signifies an emotional and dramatic change taken place within yourself. The dream may also indicate the end of one kind of lifestyle and the beginning of another.

Zombie

To dream that you are attacked by zombies indicate that you are feeling overwhelmed by forces beyond your control. You are under tremendous stress in your waking life. Alternatively, the dream represents your fears of being helpless and overpowered.

Tidal Wave
To see a tidal wave in your dream represents an overwhelming emotional issue that demands your attention. You may have been keeping your feelings and negative emotions bottled up inside for too long. On a positive note, the tidal wave symbolizes the clearing away of old habits. If you are carried away by the tidal wave, then it means that you are ready to make a brand new start in a new place,

Sirens
To hear sirens in your dream signifies a situation or problem that is giving you much stress. The sirens may serve to get your attention and focus on the problem at hand.

Look, I’m not going to stop going to the doctor and start paying the psychic around the corner to tell me what to do (well, maybe when my insurance runs out), but this shit is obvious. I am seriously overwhelmed and I cannot control my career, so you should probably put me in your TV show so that I can move back to New York before I start sleep screaming. What? I thought you liked LA? Sure, whatever helps you sleep at night.

I have so much anxiety right now

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

