Skip to content

It’s Happening…

January 16, 2012

My biggest fear is being realized. I’ve moved across the country and all of my friends are going to get engaged while I live 3,000 miles away. Alright, this isn’t my biggest fear (see: random 4 am break-in with machine gun/tornadoes), but it is definitely a bummer. I’m thinking about sending a mass email to a few of my friend’s boyfriends and asking them to please wait to propose until I can afford to fly back for all of the following: the engagement party, dress shopping, bridal showers, bachelorette party, and wedding. It might be too selfish to request that all of my friends get married in…a million years, though.

Last week I spoke on an alumni panel for my college to benefit current students contemplating moving to Los Angeles, and I found myself sounding like such an adult when talking to a few doe-eyed, blazer-donned, Keystone Light-filled girls from the class of 2012. “It’s very bizarre how quickly time goes by after graduation,” I said. “What do you mean?” They questioned. “People start getting married really quickly,” I retorted. Why did this come out of my mouth? What wisdom was I trying to pass on to the youth of America? A bit extreme, maybe, but they deserve to know the truth! Start saving up for wedding presents now, folks! This shit is pricey from all ends. If you don’t plan on getting married until your thirties like some of us, be prepared to eat lots of hors d’oeuvres in the meantime. I used to think that by being friends with people who were mostly fairly liberal, not super religious, highly educated, from the Northeast, and lived, mostly, in New York City I was going to be able to wait until 2016 for this madness to start. Why must we defy cultural norms, friends?! I have plenty of single friends who are taking their time and I’d like to thank them for their concern for my involvement in their weddings. I kid, I kid.

Let me make something very clear, I’m not judging anyone’s choice to get married now. I couldn’t be happier for my friends who are getting engaged/married, I’m just so sad that I can’t share the daily excitement and planning with all of them. Also, I’ve been obsessed with this wedding photographer for a while now, and someone should use her because I’ve never seen such gorgeous pictures. (I have never met this chick, nor am I promoting her for self-interest…unless you count the fact that in a million years I’d like her to photograph my imaginary wedding…I just think she’s so ridiculously talented.)

Basically, I have serious FoMo. You know, Fear of Missing out. Can you guys just hold off on proposals until I figure my life out?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 10:24 AM

    I’ve been pretty fortunate that none of my close friends have gotten married…which is nice ’cause I do not have the money for dresses, hotels, gifts, parties etc.

  2. January 20, 2012 1:59 AM

    Lucky!!!

  3. Ezra Car permalink
    October 10, 2012 11:15 PM

    Bridal showers are great events. i always go to bridal showers whenever i am invitied. i enjoy great food and great ambiance. `:,””

    Have a look at our very own blog as well
    http://www.caramoantravel.com

Leave a Reply

