Skip to content

Well That’s Over…

January 1, 2012

When midnight rolled around last night I found myself in a position I had been in for much of 2011: slightly behind. As the rest of the party stood in the living room watching the countdown hit thirty seconds I was frantically pouring Moet into plastic flutes. I ran into the other room carrying three glasses and shouting, “3-2-1!” I sipped my champagne and made a decision: I was going to be on time in 2012. I don’t mean prompt, or even “not late”, but I will not run around like a crazy person rushing to get everything done on time.

Last year was a transitional year, like the year before it was a building/planning year, and this year will be a growing/moving forward year. Of course, each year we hope to move forward and advance along the path that we have laid out for ourselves, but sometimes you need to recognize that you cannot move forward until you do lay out the path neatly ahead of you, and that is what I’ve done.

2011 was, in many ways, a very difficult year, but it was full of wonderful moments. Highlights are as follows:

Mammoth Lakes, CA

My family came from New Jersey to California in August and I was able to spend almost a week with them in both Laguna Beach and Yosemite/Mammoth Lakes.

Dodger

I made a new best friend, and he is undeniably the best decision I made in 2011.

Sweet E's Bake Shop

I started my own stand-up show called Cupcakes and Comedy and even though we don’t yet have a date set for the third show, I still feel like I accomplished something big with this.

Mt Baldy

A ski mountain less than an hour away? I will see you soon, Mt Baldy.

A beautiful trip to Santa Barbara, Solvang, and Santa Ynez as a birthday surprise for the man-boy-friend in February full of wine tastings, gorgeous hikes, and unbelievable meals.


Amazing, frequent, invigorating hikes around Los Angeles

St Maarten

The long, luxurious week spent in the Caribbean in July.

Chrysler Building

Having the good fortune to be able to run back and forth between coasts several times for myriad occasions.

I have thousands of pictures from 2011 and a little too much of a hangover from last night to put more up, but a few more highlights include:

-Watching the successes of all of my friends and family members and being continually proud of everyone’s accomplishments and paths

-Reconnecting with old friends, making new ones, and watching my longtime friendships move into another wonderful life phase.

-Learning the value of love.

-Watching myself on the big screen in Smurfs and filming a scene for The Amazing Spider-Man!

-A regular yoga practice that I not only benefit from physically, but mentally as well.

And of course, the love and friendship that I am so lucky to be surrounded by and always grateful for.

 

What were your favorite moments of 2011? What are you most looking forward to in 2012?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 3:56 PM

    Awww! This is beautiful. Even though I don’t see you often, we are still friends through the eery waves of the internet. I would love to see you in person though. FOR REAL. Here’s to making time and being on time in 2012!

Leave a Reply

