Skip to content

Eight Months In…August

August 4, 2011

I cannot believe that it is August already. I know it’s easy to say that about any month, but holy cow, time has flown. I’ve been in Los Angeles for eight full months now. Eight mostly productive months, too. I wish I could say that the city has won me over and I’m ready to abandon the notion of winter, snow, culture and proximity to Europe to live here forever (actually, I don’t wish that at all really), but alas, none of that is true. I could not be happier that I have to fly east for a wedding (the first of my age college friends to get married…eek!) the first week of October. October in New York is an unbelievable thing. It is pretty much the only time of year where you can count on temperate weather, cool breezes and low humidity and precipitation. I’ll be upstate and in the city, enjoying the fall foliage before I can escape back west from the low temps.

My family will be visiting next week and I get to tag along for a family vacation without having to take two weeks off of work, which is perfect. I’m seriously looking forward to some downtime in big houses by the ocean and in the mountains. And lots of good food that I don’t have to make or pay for myself.

I haven’t written in awhile I suppose, but I’ve been trying to be more positive and with that I signed up for Pop Physique, which is a ballet/yoga/weight training workout geared towards women who want perky butts (at least that’s what I’ve gleaned from their marketing campaign). I mean, wow, I’m a week and a half in my unlimited month of classes and I am hooked. My butt actually does look perkier, but Cher, my buns, they don’t feel nothin’ like steel. Not yet at least. (Can’t resist a good Clueless reference). I also stopped eating meat (I know it seems like I’m getting really LA, but I promise you, I was always like this…I just live here now). My yoga teacher (oh, here it goes again…but he drops F-bombs in yoga class…I promise he’s super cool, you guys) recommended I read Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer (Everything Is Illuminated, etc) and more than halfway through it I realized that I’ve never been able to enjoy eating meat if someone referenced the animal that it came from, and with that realization I decided that I probably shouldn’t be eating meat, then. I’m not trying to ascribe to any labels, I’m not forcing myself to BE vegetarian, but so far I’m having no problems not eating meat and I feel great, so 3 weeks in, I’m going strong.

Oh yeah, and I was in the #2 movie at the box office last weekend. And a guy who writes a film blog/interviews actors wants to interview me for his site. So that’s all pretty rad. I’ll keep you posted on that when it comes out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 12:04 PM

    No meat, Yoga, reading Jonathan Safran Foer. Yup, you are never leaving LA. WE OWN YOU.

Leave a Reply

