Skip to content

Don’t read this if your life sucks…

May 3, 2011

Things are good right now, which makes for pretty shitty writing. Sorry.

For those of you who don’t know, I organized a stand-up comedy show last night called Cupcakes & Comedy. It was at Sweet E’s Bake Shop and with a $5 price of admission our audience got a free mini cupcake and an hour of female stand up comedians. Our host, Dennis Jacobs, was the only male comedian and he wore pink…appropriately.

I only started performing/writing stand-up less than a year ago and to be honest, I don’t do it enough. I’ve done a handful of shows here in LA and before that, a handful of shows back in New York, but I’ve never really fully committed myself to it, because it’s scary, and daunting, and requires forcing friends and family to pay $10 and have two overpriced drinks and have to listen to your same schtick that they can get for free if they just buy you a Blue Moon and listen. BUT, when the bake shop that I freelance with (hahahahahahahahahahahahaha…this is reality) showed interest in my burgeoning comedy career (read: I’ll try and get anyone to come to those shows) I suggested Cupcakes & Comedy. Low and behold we got that shit done! The comedians were HILARIOUS (and not just me…I was okay. Sometimes I’m funnier trying to take someone’s taco order, but we can’t all be on when we’re onstage, OKAY!?) and the audience was FANfreakingTASTIC! I’m hoping to do this monthly, get some press on it, and make it a big deal, because hot female comedians are hard to find…unless you’re looking near the cupcakes.

Ready for the bragging? Here goes:

I got a commercial agent last week, which is pretty stellar. I mean, I set goals for these things to happen by June, and I thought I was being optimistic, so this is a very pleasant surprise.

I found a group run that culminates in a yoga class. For two weeks now I’ve run 4 miles and then down dogged with a tv star, who is mad cool.

I’m moving in two weeks. To an apartment that has an avocado tree on the deck. Guess who just ate free guacamole for dinner? This kid. Oh yeah, and a deck. What?

Remember when my boyfriend bought me a Deepak Chopra book for Valentine’s Day instead of flowers or diamonds or baked ziti? It’s a pretty good book. Feel free to take my recommendations on literature, cause I have an English degree and this is about all I feel like I can use it for. So yeah, Buddha, by Chopra. Read it.

And PS: that new puppy…he’s already 30 pounds and he’s not even five months old. Someone rescued a Saint Bernard mix by accident, OOPS! Too bad he’s gosh dern adorable and licking my feet currently.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 12:16 AM

    yay! It was really great and really fun. And you were SO funny! Worst stripper ever. We actually made it happen: Blog friends to real life friends. Best kind ever.

    And I would please like to come over for guacamole.

  2. May 3, 2011 3:37 PM

    There is so much great stuff in there, that it’s hard to say ‘yay’ for any one thing, but with my own wants and needs and such, and knowing a little about what you do, that agent part makes me so excited/good jealous of you that I just want to say again – “Yay!”

    Also, your writing hasn’t been worse for being happy. I think you’re channeling the fear that is into enough angst to still be pretty interesting.

  3. May 6, 2011 11:57 AM

    That is all awesome stuff! You go girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

