Skip to content

Ramblings, Updates and W[h]ine

April 6, 2011

I’m too tired for coherent thoughts, but I promised myself I’d blog more than once a week again. So here I am. Bullet point style. POW WHAM SHHHRACK! Holy onomonopia Batman!

-We got a puppy. He’s a rescue. We can’t decide if we should keep him for good or give him back to the owner because we like to run away for the weekend, and stay places for inordinate hours, and randomly drive to La Jolla for dinner and get back 18 hours later. But he’s the cutest thing I’ve ever seen and his name was Toby. We’re debating changing it to either: Quinn (the eskimo?), Murphy, Echo, Fucktard (just kidding), or Captain Underoos. Thoughts?

-I just got cast in a USC film as a hooker. Sooo, sometimes you’re typecast.

-I cried today because I undercooked chicken and overcooked artichokes. You can always cook the chicken more, but you can never un-cook a ‘choke. I think that’s the first thing they teach French children. Maybe second, first is, Un vin, s’il vous plait?

-You can take the water out of a bottle, but you can’t take the bottle out of the water…unless you have a funny looking fishing pole. *Addendum: you can always take the wine out of the bottle…and if you drink too much of it you can put it back in. Yes, that was a puke joke. Maan this blog is classy.

-I have two stand-up shows coming up. The Comedy Store on Sunset in West Hollywood next Saturday, April 16th. And one called Cupcakes and Comedy at a bakery on Sunday, May 1st…details to follow. If you want in on either, leave some comments (unless you don’t live here, in which case, my dvd will be out in six years. Or buy a plane ticket and stop your fake enthusiasm. Just kidding I love you all, near and far)

-I had a dinner party last Friday night. I was so excited to have a “grown up” dinner party where people would actually eat, and there was a fire pit, and we’d sit outside by candlelight and then I remembered that people who aren’t married with babies (and even some who are) tend to go to a party on a Friday night, drink too much, and then throw noodles at each other. Okay fine, it wasn’t quite like that, but I don’t really remember what the food tasted like and I woke up with a 6′ tall blonde girl sleeping on my couch. Oh whelps, guess I have some more growing up to do before canapes and wine spritzers linger the air on my Friday nights.

-One person regularly comments on this blog. Seriously. And thank Zeus for her, because otherwise I’d ignore the stats that people are actually loading this webpage and just give up. Maybe, uh, we could. Oh this is awkward. Can we maybe…get someone else giving me some feedback here? Is there anyone out there? Hello? Is there anyone out there? Oh for chrissake, I used a Titanic reference, the least you could do is throw me a “heh. you don’t suck”.

 

I have to go shove dark chocolate (Trader Joe’s “Pound Plus” is the only quantity in the cupboards anymore, kids) down my trap and load up another episode of The Sopranos. See you later, those of you who aren’t stuck in 1999.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. MacKenzie permalink
    April 7, 2011 11:47 AM

    it’s actually “is anyone ALIVE out there?” man, you do suck.

    j/k. i picture that blonde as a yellow-haired olive oyl, only able to fit 3/4’s on your couch.

  2. April 7, 2011 3:48 PM

    Are comments what we need to keep you at this? Because I will say something everyday, along with the Twitter-based adoration.

    Congratulations again on the part!

  3. jay permalink
    April 9, 2011 8:04 AM

    Adria, congratulations on getting a role in a USC film. Have you considered contacting the American Film Institute’ s office in Los Feliz? They have a contract with SAG ( I assume you are SAG…) and they have a number of projects going on.

    Second…have you considered joining AFTRA? Doing AFTRA background work on the soaps (AMC, B&B, Y&R, DOOL) and reality shows is a great way of getting exposure. The cost of joining is only 1/2 of the regular initiation fee.

    Third….thing about doing a showcase or an Equity-Waiver play out there. Company of Angels is a great place (started by Leonard Nimoy and Victor French (Highway to Heaven) and they are always on the lookout for new talent.

    Fourth…keep the dog!

    Break a leg!

  4. Eileen permalink
    April 12, 2011 12:47 PM

    I second everything MacKenzie said. Oh, and I read your blog religiously.

    • Matt permalink
      April 12, 2011 10:35 PM

      -I’m liking the bullet point blogs.
      -6 foot tall blonde on couch- I want to go to there.
      -But actually, I’m in love with the person above me.

Leave a Reply

