Skip to content

It Must Be Spring…

March 10, 2011

There are crickets chirping outside of my window, casual reminders that the Los Angeles version of winter (a season that used to cause physical and psychological anguish upon arrival for me) is coming to a close. Yesterday morning I had a 10 am meeting in Hollywood, it was potentially important, but unfortunately, most likely inconsequential. While driving up the 101, my hangover dissipated. My head still ached, my stomach was still uneasy, but it didn’t seem to matter. In the warm breeze across the freeway, and the hot pink flowers littering the side of the road, I felt at home. All of a sudden, there was something familiar about my feeling. Something, innately welcoming, something we could succinctly call Spring, but I’d rather ramble about for a few paragraphs.

This is a time, for myself, but also for this country, to reflect upon decisions made, take inventory of  the state of affairs, and figure out how to proceed forward with the greatest intentions in mind. I’m not one to dwell on National or International News, usually, but I can’t seem to get past what’s going on right now. I refuse to watch any more news about Charlie Sheen, as his ridiculous behavior is just an excuse for the media to avoid covering the real news. News that I don’t even begin to know enough about, but I know that I am hard pressed to find a gas station nearby where I can fill up my tank for less than $4/gallon and I know that for the first time in my life I’m regularly listening to NPR and it might be taken away from me.

I know I’m idealistic (its one of my greatest faults and greatest assets), but I was sitting in my second yoga class of the week on Tuesday, upside-down and breathing, and I was overwhelmed by a feeling of connectedness to everything around me. I was at peace with life for the first time in a very long time. I was also hit over the head with the idea that if more people took the time to stop, breathe, and adopt a yogic philosophy that the world would make more sense. It’s the kind of mess that we can never clean up, though, and I recognize that. The problems are too big, too deep, too interconnected, and too doused in power-hungry oil to be solved by a few “omms”, a clear-headed teacher, and a final resting pose.

I just wish that the world could put its problems aside for a few weeks and smell Spring unfurling.

Kind of like a yoga pose, but not.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 8:20 PM

    I wish I felt your optimism about the weather. It’s been cold and raining here for two days straight. While it has washed the snow away, the sun hasn’t shone and it doesn’t feel like spring shower.

    Good for you for avoiding this Sheen mania. People are paying too much attention to him and his insane ramblings. I remember one of my first year professors was talking to us about how entertainment news was becoming just news. It’s a sad reality. I saw the top stories on a news website today – “Charlie Sheen,” “Lindsay Lohan,” “Wisconsin Senate.” In that order. Now I’m not American, but I can probably assume what happened with the Wisconsin Senate is more important than what drunken/drug addicted “celebrities” are doing.

  2. March 13, 2011 5:07 PM

    You’re so west coast now.

    Kidding- I’ve gone through a couple rough patches lately and I’ve found that yogic philosophy (or at least tapping into some sort of spirituality) is the absolute best medicine. As is learning more about the world, not necessarily the horrors of it, but just what’s going on (way, way) outside my bubble.

    Sounds like you’re in a good place right now. That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

